Grant The Groundwater NOC

CGWA – Geographic reaches and exclusions in India The Indian government created the Central Ground Water Authority (CGWA) under Section 3 (3) of the Environment (Protection Act), 1986. The Ministry of Environment and Forests released a notification (Number S.O. 38 (E)) on January 4, 1997, with the goal of regulating and controlling the development and management of groundwater in India. Why the Water is a State Subject as far as the legislature is concerned The Indian Constitution divides the responsibilities of the Union and State governments into three lists: the Union List, the State List, and the Concurrent List. The Union List contains subjects that are of national importance, such as defense, foreign affairs, and railways. The Union government has exclusive power to make laws on these subjects. The State List contains subjects that are primarily the responsibility of the states, such as police, agriculture, and public health. The State government has exclusive power to make laws on these subjects. The Concurrent List contains subjects that are of common interest to the Union and State governments, such as criminal law, trade and commerce, and taxation. Both the Union and State governments have the power to make laws on these subjects. Water is a subject included in the State List, but the Union government has the power to make laws on the regulation and development of inter-state rivers and river valleys. There are 16 states and Union Territories where the Central Groundwater Authority has no power to issue the groundwater withdrawal permission or the groundwater NOC. These states and UTs have their own State Groundwater Authority to regulate groundwater development and management. In short, the Indian Constitution gives the Union government and the State governments a shared responsibility for managing water resources. The specific responsibilities of each level of government varies depending on the circumstances. List of States/Union Territories which does not come under the jurisdiction of CGWA Andhra Pradesh Commissioner, Rural Development Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh, Hermitage Building, Adarshnagar, Hyderabad – 500004 Goa Chief Engineer (Water Resources) Department of Water Resources, Sinchai Bhawan, Alto Porvorim Bardez, Goa – 403521 Himachal Pradesh Member Secretary, Himachal Pradesh Groundwater Authority, P & I –II Unit, I&PH Department, Jal Bhawan Kasumpti, Shimla- 171009 Jammu & Kashmir Jammu & Kashmir State Water Resources Regulatory Authority (Winter Office November to April) Asoka Nagar, Satwari, Jammu (Summer Office May to October) Syed Chowk, Brein Nishat, Srinagar Karnataka Member Secretary, Karnataka Ground Water Authority, Khanija Bhawan, Race Course Road, Bangalore 560001 Kerala Member Secretary, Kerala Ground Water Authority, Jalavignana Bhavan, Ambalamukku, Thiruvananthapuram – 695005 Delhi Deputy Commissioner, Government of NCT Delhi Tamilnadu Chief Engineer, State Ground, and Surface Water Resources Data Centre, Tharamani, Chennai – 600113 Telangana Commissioner, Rural Development Department, Government of Telangana, D No 1-3-1028, DWCRA Building, Lower Tank Road, Hyderabad – 500080 West Bengal Director, State Water Investigation Directorate, ICMARD Building, Block No14/2, Scheme –VIII(M), 5th Floor, Ultadanga, Kolkatta – 700067 Chandigarh (through bye-laws) Finance Secretary, UT Secretariat, Sector -9, Chandigarh – 160009 Puducherry Member Secretary, Puducherry Ground Water Authority, No.15, 3rd Cross Street (extension) Mariamman Nagar, Karamanikupam, Puducherry – 605004 Lakshadweep Administrator, UT of Lakshadweep, Kavaratti – 682055 Punjab The Secretary, (PWRDA) Punjab Water Regulation and Development Authority, SCO 149-152, 3rd-floor Sector 17C, Chandigarh – 160017 Haryana The Chief Technical Officer, HWRA (Haryana Water Resources Authority) Sinchai Bhawan, Sector 5, Panchkula, Haryana 134109 Uttar Pradesh The Member Secretary, UPGWD (Uttar Pradesh State Ground Water Management & Regulatory Authority) Ground Water Department UP, 9th Floor, Indira Bhawan Ashok Marg, Lucknow – 226001.